The Figaro Bénéteau 3


A brand new design for 2019 by renowned French architects VPLP and 2019 boat of the year the Figaro 3 is the first one design foiling race class.


The new boat is a complete re-leveller, a new game, attracting everyone from young ambitious sailors starting their offshore career to Vendee Globe challengers and experienced legends. There is a buzz around the pontoons and in the sailing world, who can adapt the quickest, prioritise best, who will win the 2019 Solitaire du Figaro?



The Figaro class is well known as a training ground for the best shorthanded sailors in the world. Being such an expert fleet, the class is ideally suited for sailors to keep their racing skills up to scratch, their minds sharp and pushing themselves to learn more.


Many Vendee Globe skippers come though the class and compete in the fleet regularly making the Figaro an extremely high profile and notoriously tough event.

 Boat Spec


Length                      10.10m

Beam                         3.46m

Draft                            2.5m

Carbon mast

Foil assisted

Twin rudder


Sail Wardrobe

Main sail (two reef points)

Jibs: J2, J3 & storm jib

Code Zero

A2, A3 & A sails


Races / Season 2020



Solo Maître CoQ SOLO | 25th June - 28th June


DRHEAM CUP SOLO | 15th - 27h July





Concearneau SOLO | 6h August - 9th September





Solitaire du Figaro | 24th August - 20th September




Allmer Cup Le Havre | 5th - 17th October



Alan Roberts Racing Races 2019
2019-12-05_logo-dc-opdf-20201 (1).jpeg

The Solitaire du Figaro













The Solitaire du Figaro is a tough demanding race that sees the who's who of single handed offshore sailing compete alongside some highly experienced sailors and rookies in a month long race of  four legs that covers around 2000 Miles at sea, each leg usually being of four days duration and sailed around the busy coastal waters of the English Channel, the Bay of Biscay and the Western Approaches. The navigation, tides and weather aspects make the race particularly challenging for the sleep deprived single handed sailors who are racing boat on boat against 40 fellow competitors.


There have been 4 people that have won the Figaro 3 times throughout its history each having campaigned for over 15 years. Philippe Poupon 1982, 1985, 1995. Michel Desjoyeaux 1992, 1998, 2007 Jérémie Beyou 2005, 2011, 2014 Yann Eliès 2012, 2013, 2015 these are just some of the legends that have come out of the Figaro.

Alan Roberts is a professional sailor who has sailed a variety of dinghy classes, sports boats and keel boats where he has gained a reputation for being a hard worker with a very focussed, methodical mind-set.

© Alan Roberts Racing. 2019 All Rights Reserved. Designed by Mr Bota & Co.

Follow Alan Roberts Racing

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • LinkedIn - White Circle